April 05, 2013 at 15:36 PM EDT
Ricardo Salinas Holds Meeting With the President of Colombia, Juan Manuel Santos

"Colombia, With Its Modern Wide Ranging Reforms, is a Great Example of Progress to Everyone"

Grupo Salinas Reaffirms Its Commitment With the Progress of Colombia and Builds the Most Significant Fiber Optics Network in Latin America in That Country

BOGOTA, Colombia, April 5, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies, announced today that Ricardo Salinas, President of Grupo Salinas, held a meeting with Juan Manuel Santos, President of Colombia, in the city of Bogota.

The meeting reaffirms Grupo Salinas' commitment with innovative projects, which contribute to improve the living conditions of the population. It also represents a vote of confidence from the government of Colombia in the Group's capability to effectively add to the development of the country.

Azteca, a company of Grupo Salinas, builds the most important fiber optics network in Latin America, in Colombia; with an extension of 19,000 kilometers through 753 municipalities that represent approximately 80% of the country's territory. Those municipalities will receive world class connectivity services, positively affecting the wellbeing of families, and the productivity of businesses. The Colombian government provides approximately US$235 million for the construction of the network.

Mr. Salinas indicated that the government of Colombia has a clear view of the strong correlation between the access to telecommunications and economic growth, and applies a subsidy in an adequate way to bring state of the art connectivity services to everyone, at affordable prices, through the efficient operations of a competitive company. Ricardo Salinas added that, "Colombia, with modern wide ranging reforms, is a great example of progress to everyone."

Grupo Salinas supports projects that improve the living conditions of the base of the socioeconomic pyramid of the communities where it operates. Ricardo Salinas recently shared his point of view about this project in his blog: www.ricardosalinas.com/blog.

Grupo Salinas Profile.

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx ; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

CONTACT: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx
Stock Market XML and JSON Data API provided by FinancialContent Services, Inc.
Nasdaq quotes delayed at least 15 minutes, all others at least 20 minutes.
Markets are closed on certain holidays. Stock Market Holiday List
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Press Release Service provided by PRConnect.
Stock quotes supplied by Six Financial
Postage Rates Bots go here