By: PRWeb
March 27, 2013 at 11:10 AM EDT
Beverage Industry Unites for Drink Careers 101 Employment Initiative
PRWeb

The beverage industry is rallying behind the recently launched Kickstarter campaign for "Drink Careers 101: How to Get a Job in the Beverage Industry," a first-of-its-kind guide to professional careers in wine, beer, spirits, coffee, tea and soda. The guide will offer career advice, strategies, and resources for breaking into the industry, and will be supplemented by lectures in various locations around the country.

Beverage industry professionals are flocking to the project in the spirit of giving back and paying their successes forward to future generations. Over 100 beverage professionals from across the nation have joined the Drink Careers 101 Project Advisory Board to lend their voice and expertise. The members are involved in the project via social media, daily interviews, and even fundraising initiatives of their own to further the Kickstarter campaign.

Recent college graduates continue to struggle with unemployment, and the Drink Careers 101 initiative aims to make them aware of career opportunities in the beverage industry. The guide will illuminate the diverse range of promising and available beverage career options --- a largely overlooked employment solution for Millennial college graduates.

"I think a lot of college students have this stereotype that the only job in the beverage industry is working at a winery or being a salesperson," says Drink Careers 101 Project Advisory Board Member Whitney Rigsbee from Nomacorc. "There's a huge window of opportunity within the beverage industry with an array of different jobs that are all unique and great!"

"One of the best parts of my job is mentoring others, and in my opinion, that is what is so great about our industry," says Advisory Board Member Ronald Plunkett of Hakkasan. "There is no way I could have done what I did without the mentorship of others. I am honored to be part of this industry."

The beverage industry offers many compelling career opportunities for young graduates struggling in the job market and with the collective help of the Project Advisory Board, the Drink Careers 101 Guide will help show them the way.
------
2013 Drink Careers 101 Advisory Board members from around the nation include:
Adam "Alcohol Professor" Levy, New York International Spirits Competition, New York
International Wine Competition, New York International Beer Competition: nyispiritscompetition.com
Adam Seger, Rare Botanical Bitters: adamseger.com
Alan Kropf, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Alice Feiring, The Feiring Line: alicefeiring.com
Andrew Healey, 3 Rock Marketing: 3rockmarketing.com
Alyssa Rapp, Bottlenotes: bottlenotes.com
Ariana Peju, Peju Province Winery, Tess Winery: peju.com, tesswine.com
Allie Quady, Quady Winery: quadywinery.com, vya.com
Amy Mumma, Central Washington University: cwuce.org/wine-education/degree.asp
Amy Payne, BinWise: binwise.com
Andre Hueston Mack, Mouton Noir Wines: MoutonNoirWines.com
Ashley Pengilly, Foley Family Wines: foleyfoodandwinesociety.com
Ashley V. Routson, Bison Organic Beer & Brewers Association: drinkwiththewench.com, beermixology.com, bisonbrew.com, craftbeer.com
Ashley Teplin, Teplin+Nuss: teplinnuss.com
Brad Ball, Wine Awesomeness: wineawesomeness.com
Brad Bolt, Bar DeVille: bardeville.com
Brian Kropf, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Brian Robinson, Wormwood Society: wormwoodsociety.org
Chas Kroll, American Tea Masters Association: teamasters.org
Chelsea Prince, Chelsea Print & Publishing: rockandvinebook.com
Cheryl Durzy, MommyJuice Wines, Clos LaChance, and The Vegan Vine: mommyjuicewines.com,
clos.com, theveganvine.com
Chris Angelus, Portland Food Adventures: portlandfoodadventures.com
Christian Oggenfuss, Napa Valley Wine Academy: napavalleywineacademy.com
Christine Trice, OMG I so need a glass of wine: omgisoneedaglassofwine.com
Christophe Smith, Titus Vineyards: titusvineyards.com
Cody Rossen, Beam Inc.: beamglobal.com
Colin Kimball, Small Screen, Inc.: smallscreennetwork.com
Cori Paige, Under My Host: undermyhost.com
Corbie Smith, Visit Napa Valley: visitnapavalley.com
Courtney Cochran, Hip Tastes: hiptastes.com
Cricket Nelson, The Corner: thecornermiami.com
Dan Dunn, SiriusXM Satellite Radio: theimbiber.net
David Grega, Carlotta Cellars, Sand and Society: carlottawines.com
David Nava, Anchor Distilling Company: anchordistilling.com
Dan Chapin, Left Coast Marketing: leftcoastmarketing.com
Dennis Berg, The Space Needle: spaceneedle.com/restaurant
Didier Loustau & Susan Quinn, ToutSuite Social Club: toutsuite.com
Dina Mande, Juice Media: hellojuice.com
Drew Fisher, Barton Springs Soda Company: bartonspringsbrewery.com, bartonspringssodaco.com
Duggan McDonnel, Campo de Encanto Pisco, Cantina SF, Liquid Think Tank: encantopisco.com,
cantinasf.com, liquidthinktank.com
Erin Jimcosky, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Eduardo Dingler, Morimoto-Napa: morimotonapa.com
Ellie Winters, St. George Spirits: stgeorgespirits.com
Fred & Amy Groth, Hellocello & Prohibition Spirits: hellosonoma.com
Fred Bueltman, New Holland Brewing: newhollandbrew.com
Gary Saperstein, Out in The Vineyard: outinthevineyard.com
Ignacio Delgadillo, Delgadillo Cellars: dcellars.com
Ian White, Butter Communications (7x7, California Home and Design, NVL-Ink) buttercommunications.com, 7x7.com, californiahomedesign.com, nvlmag.com
James Parker Huston, Wine Gallery, Charlie Palmer; The Crow Bar and Kitchen: crowbarcdm.com,
charliepalmer.com, cdmwinegallery.com
J. Kirk Feiereisen, Yo el Rey Roasting: yoelrey.com
Janet Viader, Viader Vineyards & Winery: viader.com
Jeana Edelman, Hotlips Pizza + Soda: hotlipssoda.com
Jesse Maguire, La Sirena Clandestina: lasirenachicago.com
Jeff Dorenbush, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Jeff Stai, Twisted Oak Winery: twistedoak.com
Jonathan Cristaldi, The Noble Rot / Noble Group Media: TheNobleRot.com / NobleGroupMedia.com
Jordan Kivelstadt, Free Flow Wines & Kivelstadt Cellars: freeflowwines.com, KivelstadtCellars.com
Jonathon Alsop, Boston Wine School: BostonWineSchool.com
Joanna Mae Glass, Kobrand Corporation: kobrandwineandspirits.com
Jonathan Elliman, CellarPass: cellarpass.com
Joshua Cairns, Hahn Family Wines: hahnfamilywines.com
Judd Finkelstein, Judd's Hill Winery: juddshill.com
Julie Brosterman, Women & Wine: womenwine.com
Julie Crafton, Napa Valley Vintners: napavintners.com
Julie Hadjinian, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Julien Perry, Curbed Network/One Night Only Project, LLC: seattle.eater.com/onoproject.com
Kaethy Kennedy, Story Cellars: storycellars.com
Katherine Jarvis, Jarvis Communications: jarviscommunications.com
Katie Hamilton Shafer, Feast it Forward: feastitforward.com
Kate Thorsen, Maverick Wine Company: maverickwine.com
Kerrin Laz, Dean & Deluca: deandeluca.com
Leta Soza, VaynerMedia: vaynermedia.com
Lisa Mattson, Jordan Vineyard & Winery: jordanwinery.com, exesinmyipod.com
Liz Demakos, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Luke Bauer, Alaskan Brewing Co.: alaskanbeer.com
Lynn House, Blackbird: blackbirdrestaurant.com
Mark Vogler, Out in The Vineyard: outinthevineyard.com
Martin Cody, Cellar Angels: cellarangels.com
Matt Crafton, Chateau Montelena Winery: chateaumontelena.com
Martin Geraghty, Firestone Walker Brewing Co.: firestonebeer.com
Matt Hughes, Six Sigma Ranch: SixSigmaRanch.com
Michael Hochstatter, MediaHoch: facebook.com/michaelhochstatter
Michael Scaffidi, Jefferson DC & Plume Restaurant: jeffersondc.com & plumedc.com
Mitch Davis, Jackson Family Wines: Kj.com, Lacrema.com, Murphygoode.com
Monique Soltani, Wine Oh TV: wineoh.tv
Morgan Clenenden, Cold Heaven Cellars: coldheavencellars.com
Morgan First, Second Glass, secondglass.com
Orlin Sorensen & Brett Carlile, Woodinville Whiskey Co.: woodinvillewhiskeyco.com
Paul Leary, Bespoke Collection: bespokecollection.com
Phil Jimcosky, Mutineer Magazine: mutineermagazine.com
Reno Walsh, Zephyr Adventures & Wine Bloggers Conference: zephyradventures.com & winetourismconference.org
Ronald Plunkett, Hakkasan San Francisco: hakkasan.com
Russell Davis, Spike TV's Bar Rescue (Season 3): russelldavisgroup.com
Rusti Porter, Anchor Distilling Company: anchordistilling.com
Ryan Moses, Best Brands Inc. & DrinkMusicCity.com: bestbrandsinc.com, drinkmusiccity.com
Sarah Elliman, CellarPass: cellarpass.com
Scott Spolverino, In With Bacchus: inwithbacchus.com
Sean Z. Paxton, The Home Brew Chef: homebrewchef.com
Scott Klann, Newsome-Harlow Wines: nhvino.com
Shaher Misif, Cantina: cantinasf.com
Sondra Bernstein, the girl & the fig LLC: thegirlandthefig.com
Scott Tavenner, Savino: savinowine.com
Stephanie Demasi, DeMasi Consulting, Inc + Juslyn Vineyards: juslynvineyards.com
Steven Stone, Sound Spirits: drinksoundspirits.com
Summer Scarbrough, VinniBag: vinnibag.com
Ted Kilgore, Taste & The Planter's House: lastwordcocktails.com
Tiffany Adamowski, 99 Bottles: 99bottles.net
Tim Keith, Leaf & Vine Wine: leafandvine.com
Tyler Balliet, Second Glass, secondglass.com
Ward Kadel, Vinopanion - WineLog.net & Bordeaux.com (CIVB): wkwine.us/WK-drXeNo
Warren Bobrow, Cocktail Whisperer: cocktailwhisperer.com
Whitney Rigsbee, Nomacorc: nomacorc.com
Yael Vengroff, Proprietors LLC: specificdensity.tumblr.com
Ziggy Eschelman, Ziggy The Wine Gal: ziggythewinegal.com

About Drink Careers 101: How to Get a Job in the Beverage Industry:
Drink Careers 101 is a project created by Mutineer Magazine to make a positive impact on the Millennial unemployment crisis, and spread the word about opportunities within the beverage community. It is comprised of three components: the Kickstarter Fundraiser, the Mutineer Magazine Drink Careers 101 printed guide, and the Drink Careers Speaking Engagement Tour educating college students on how to get a job in the beverage industry after college. To donate, visit: DrinkCareers101.com. To learn more about the project, visit: DrinkCareers101.com/home. Follow on social networks @DrinkCareers101, facebook.com/DrinkCareers101, twitter.com/DrinkCareers101 and pinterest.com/DrinkCareers101.

About Mutineer Magazine:
Established in 2008 and currently in its 27th issue, Mutineer Magazine introduces fine beverages to the Millennial generation, taking fine beverage culture from niche to the mainstream using a cultural, rather than commercial, approach across multiple media. The Mutinous beat encompasses wine, beer, spirits, non-alcoholic beverages and food. The print publication is distributed nationally in both regional stores and national chains such as Barnes and Noble, Safeway, and Vons. For more information, visit MutineerMagazine.com
###

Read the full story at http://www.prweb.com/releases/Drink/Careers101/prweb10574414.htm

PRWeb.com
Stock Market XML and JSON Data API provided by FinancialContent Services, Inc.
Nasdaq quotes delayed at least 15 minutes, all others at least 20 minutes.
Markets are closed on certain holidays. Stock Market Holiday List
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Press Release Service provided by PRConnect.
Stock quotes supplied by Six Financial
Postage Rates Bots go here