Marconi Society Seeks Nominations for 2014 Prize and 2013 Paul Baran Young Scholars

The Marconi Society is seeking nominations for its two awards programs, the Marconi Prize and the Marconi Society Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards.

The $100,000 Marconi Prize is awarded annually to a living scientist or scientists who have made a significant contribution in the field of information and communications science. It is considered the most prestigious award specific to the field. Marconi Fellows include an elite list of individuals whose work set the stage for modern telecommunications and the Internet, from Nobel Prize-winning physicists Arthur Schawlow and Sir Charles Kao to Internet pioneers Robert Kahn, Paul Baran, Vint Cerf and Leonard Kleinrock, World Wide Web creator Sir Tim Berners-Lee, science visionary Arthur C. Clarke, and Ethernet inventor Robert M. Metcalfe. More recent winners have included Google founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page, DSL modem inventor John Cioffi, encryption pioneers Martin Hellman, Whitfield Diffie and Ron Rivest, turbo-code inventor Claude Berrou, fiber optic pioneers Robert Tkach, David Payne and Andrew Chraplyvy and wireless luminaries Andrew Viterbi, Irwin Jacobs and Henry Samueli, among others.

Nominations for the Marconi Prize may be submitted at any time, but the deadline for consideration for the 2014 Prize (to be presented in the fall of 2014) is June 30, 2013.

The Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards, which include a cash prize of $4000 plus $1000 expenses to attend the Society’s annual awards gala, recognize outstanding young scientists and engineers anywhere in the world who have demonstrated exceptional capabilities and potential. A nomination must be submitted on behalf of the candidate by a faculty or technical advisor. The deadline is May 30, 2013. To be eligible for this year’s awards, nominees must have been born in 1986 or later.

The 2013 Marconi Prize and Young Scholar awards will be presented on Oct. 1, 2013 in Bologna, Italy.

The Marconi Society was founded in 1974 by Gioia Marconi Braga to honor her father, radio inventor Guglielmo Marconi. The Marconi Prize has been awarded since 1975, to a total of 44 scientists.


for The Marconi Society
Hatti Hamlin, 925-872-4328
Stock Market XML and JSON Data API provided by FinancialContent Services, Inc.
Nasdaq quotes delayed at least 15 minutes, all others at least 20 minutes.
Markets are closed on certain holidays. Stock Market Holiday List
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Press Release Service provided by PRConnect.
Stock quotes supplied by Six Financial
Postage Rates Bots go here